Another Intellectual Being

The Tale Of The Freebird

I stood mooring on a cliff,

Staring vacantly at the chasms blue.

My wings were quite weary,

Flying through a storm or two.

 

I tapped my feet on the rock,

Quite unsure of my flow.

But I had seen the others,

Quite dainty right below.

 

I spread my wings and saw,

A feather ruffled or two.

I tapped my feet again,

Unsure of what to do.

 

A slight chill in the air,

The gale my ugly foe.

It understood quite well,

My intentions to go below.

 

A fear started in my heart,

And it slowly grew.

If ever my wings could take flight,

Was not something I knew.

 

Then I felt a warm presence,

A beautiful radiance in slight.

She asked what I was doing,

Why I wasn’t in flight?

 

I showed her my ruffled feathers,

Told her of my fears.

She opened up her wings,

There were holes made by spears.

 

Yet when she flew,

What a magnificent sight.

She came around a sharp turn,

And sneaked up on my right.

 

She gave a mighty push,

I shot clear of the cliff.

Save me, save me I cried,

From my trembling lips.

 

She said let your wings out,

Embrace the world below.

I looked down and saw,

I was flying quite low.

 

I flapped my wings, flapped them harder,

I found that I could fly.

My joy was quite unbound,

That I shot up straight so high.

 

I caught up with the Freebird,

Asked her of her tale.

Regardless of the matter,

With her in love I fell.

2 responses

  1. Rickster

    Very well done in my opinion. Great read! =)

    July 14, 2011 at 12:15 am

  2. Pritika Magima

    Wow, this is flawless. 🙂 Very very well written indeed.

    November 26, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Leave a Reply

